European Politics Online Workshop (EPOW) is a public workshop series on European politics meeting via Zoom ⇗. A space for junior and senior scholars from the US and Europe to discuss current events and present work in progress. Everyone is welcome!

Our one hour seminars are held Wednesdays at
8 a.m. PT / 11 a.m. ET / 4 p.m. CET.

  • Roundtables are thematic with short opening statements followed by discussion among panelists and Q&A with audience.
  • Paper presentations are 30 minutes followed by 30 minutes of Q&A.

📧 Subscribe to our newsletter (announcements only).

Workshop coordinated by Catherine de Vries and Seth Jolly.


Spring 2020 Seminar Series schedule coming soon

via Zoom ⇗

Past Workshops

28 October 2020: Roundtable on US-EU relations

21 October 2020: “Do gender quotas improve party delegations? Evidence from the European Parliament”

14 October 2020: “Does Party Polarization Mobilize or De-Mobilize Voters? The Answer Depends on Where Voters Stand”

7 October 2020: “Shaping the Nation through Civic Integration: A Postcolonial Perspective on Paradoxical Policies.”

30 September 2020: “The Politics of Bad Options: Why the Eurozone Crisis has been so hard to resolve”

23 September 2020: “Reassessing the Democratic Constraint: Strategic Interdependence and Public Opinion towards the Euro”

16 September 2020: Roundtable on the Future of European Integration

4 August 2020: Roundtable on Democratic Backsliding

28 July 2020:”Message Distortion as a Campaign Strategy: Does Rival Party Distortion of Focal Party Position Affect Voters?”

21 July 2020: “Identity-based opposition to the EU and support for the radical right”

14 July 2020: “External Threats and Group Identity – The Effect of the Russian Invasion in Ukraine on European Union Identity”

7 July 2020: “The Brexit Deterrent? How Member State Exit Shapes Public Support for International Organizations”

30 June 2020: Roundtable on EU Recovery Fund